Sarah’s Photo Narrative

The Senior Summer Never Sleeps

1

“Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun.”

2

“Caught on the crossfire of childhood and stardom”
3

“Blown on the steel breeze”

4

“Come on you target for faraway laughter”

5

“You cried for the moon”

6

“Come on you stranger, you legend…”
7

“…you martyr…”

8

“…and shine!”

9

“Nobody knows where you are, how near or how far”10

“We’ll bask in the shadow of yesterday’s triumph”11

“And sail on the steal breeze.”

12

“Come on you boy child, you winner and looser”

13

“Come on you miner for truth and delusion, and shine!”

Throughout my studies of photography in the past month or so, I have come across many different authors and how they verbalize the connection between image and text. Barthes hones in on the necessity for a photograph to have a punctum or an element that reaches out and grabs the beholder. This capitalizes on the idea that there needs not be a photographer in the equation at all, only the observer in integral. Mitchell brings about the idea of an imagetext. This describes how an image or text can work together (or separately)  to express one idea or inner thought of the creator. This idea from Mitchell puts the photographer and author back into the equation. Finally Muhr and Berger continue to probe into the importance of the creator of a collection of photographs and text. They push the limits and continually insist that they are the vital aspect of the photograph that brings it to life and gives it meaning. In creating my photographic narrative, I hoped to bring all of these thinkers together in order to create a piece specific to me.

In my photographic narrative, I chose to use photographs from my summer vacation in order to outline the lyrics of my favorite Pink Floyd song. This past summer that I spent with my boyfriend and my family was one of the greatest ones I have ever experienced and I felt it necessary to showcase that in my project. As you go through the photos, you read on the bottom the lyric from the song Shine on You Crazy Diamond that I was thinking of when I chose it. For every photograph, there was some sort of punctum that put me into the words of Roger Waters and took me back to the summer I spent under the sun. Each photograph tells this story seamlessly with the lyrics that go along with it. While the appear to go together, they in fact tell two different stories but work in tandem. Being that in the end, these photographs express the story of my summer and display some of my favorite things, my role as the creator of this photographic narrative can not be forgotten or denied.

In the beginning stages of my photographic narrative, I had originally intended to use photos that were not from my own collection to go along with the Pink Floyd song. But as we have seen before, it is hard for me to stay dedicated to anything for long if it is not personal enough to me. But throughout the whole project I was relieved that I didn’t have to add any kind of words to my project because I don’t like to explain my creative process (mostly because it tends to be kind of random). But now that I am able to add words, I think it is kind of vital to add the Pink Floyd lyrics seeing that no one picked up on the parallel (not that I was expecting anyone to). The whole point of choosing the photos that I did was not just to outline my summer but to integrate photo and music. For example, many of the smaller sequences within my photographic narrative have photos chosen to go with the rhythm or volume of the song. At first it was very hard to incorporate all of the visions of the different authors we have read from but in the end, I think it would have just come naturally. For the  most part my project stayed the same but I did decided that captioning the photos with the accompanying lyrics was the best choice for the success of the project after getting feedback from my peers. All in all, the project was an enjoyable success.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sarah’s Photo Narrative

  1. shjones says:

    Title: The sandy-haired boy.

    Spending our summer and free time with our loved ones is what life is all about. Getting up early, in the morning, making the trip out to be with our loved ones, and spending all day having fun. Deep into the night we stay up and talk because we don’t want to leave them, even to go to sleep. We go to great lengths to make memories with these people and to chronicle these memories so that we can fondly look back upon them in the future.

  2. alangdon93 says:

    “The Last Hurrah”
    On the water from sunrise to sunset, not going to stop celebrating the moments before graduation. Senior Summer never sleeps. It’s The Last Hurrah when you feel on top of the world.

  3. Sheila Jelen says:

    This was a wonderful idea. I love the way you bury the Pink Floyd song in the photo essay. I was confused however about your definition of an imagetext as a puzzle, and your assertion that it requires a “search.” Does Mitchell discuss it in this way? My understanding of an image text is not that there is a known text hidden from the viewers eye governing the project (as was yours). Rather, the narrative that grows out of the image itself makes it into an imagetext. Where, however, does the “connectedness” fit in? I am not sure that Mitchell speaks of connected images, or a photographic essay in the context of an image text.

  4. Sheila Jelen says:

    In focusing on the place of the operator in your final remarks, you introduce the notion that a collector or editor is also an operator of sorts. I like that idea of your composing an essay out of a collection of photos you did not necessarily take, but which were taken of something specific to your life.

  5. lexywendt says:

    Sarah,
    I really enjoy the way you blend the song lyrics into captions for each photograph. Between the title and the lyrics there is just enough context given to greatly deepen the theme your images are going for. I can very clearly see your narrative and connect personally to your experiences. This is one of my favorite photo essays on this blog.

Leave a Reply

