Megan’s Photo Narrative: “Finding Nemo”

I found all of my photos on
http://www.wickedlocal.com/scituate
and
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2275419/Winter-storm-Nemo-Deadly-blizzard-dumps-feet-snow-East-Coast-trapping-drivers-seven-dead.html#axzz2KYFpat24

20130212-160741.jpg

Winter storm Nemo caused 16 deaths, hundreds of thousands of power outages, and shut down major metropolises for days.

20130212-160751.jpg

In the small town of Scituate, Massachusetts, massive waves of freezing water poured over retaining walls a midst of pelting snow and ice.

20130212-160805.jpg

20130212-160814.jpg

20130212-160831.jpg

20130212-160844.jpg

The damage was vast, but for many New Englanders, Nemo presented little more than several snow days.

20130212-160901.jpg

Used to severe winters, this storm, although extraordinary even by their standards, was familiar, terrible, and beautiful to those in New England.

20130212-160909.jpg

20130212-160918.jpg

20130212-160929.jpg

Its marvelous how something so damaging can be so familiar, so breathtaking, so joyful.

20130212-160958.jpg

Those unaffected by the storm heard only of the debilitating snowfall, days without power, and tragic deaths.

20130212-161004.jpg

But who hasn’t marveled at the breathtaking silence of a street newly covered with snow, blanketed with the promise of laughing children and hot chocolate?

20130212-161018.jpg

20130212-161024.jpg

20130212-161036.jpg

20130212-161048.jpg

Winter storms of these sorts strike us with the knowledge of nature’s terrible beauty: of its breathtaking destruction and of its awesome sights.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Megan’s Photo Narrative: “Finding Nemo”

  1. Sheila Jelen says:

    I like your emphasis on the need for an underlying theme and a discernible contrast. Here, the subject of snow is inherently unified, but the fact that some photos include color, and some are simply the black and white of snow on the landscape, establishes a beautiful dialogue between the terrible and the beautiful, between the danger and the joy. Your articulation of “contrasting yet inherently connected ideas” is a wonderful way to take the individual photos, and the larger story woven out of those photographs into account.

  2. megmck12 says:

    That is exactly what I was attempting to convey! Thank you.

  3. megmck12 says:

    Paragraph on reflection:

    Although I was unable to take my classmate’s visions into account, the input provided by my professor greatly enhanced my desire to clearly show a “discernible contrast”—focusing on my notions of underlying themes and obviously connected but inherently contrasting qualities of the photographs in my collection. My added text, therefore, highlight the contrast apparent in my photos, allowing both text and photographs to stand independent of each other. This nod to Mitchell’s definition of a photographic narrative is furthered in my use of the phrase “terrible beauty”: the imagetext I connect most closely with my theme. In addition, I added the background of the New England culture to connect to the specificity of my photographs—although all of my images are from the New England area and are of the same storm, this fact is not readily apparent from my images, so I wanted to highlight it in the text. I titled my narrative “Finding Nemo”, a play on words that accentuates the dual natures of a snow storm; playful as a children’s movie, yet dangerous as a now famous storm.

  4. Sheila Jelen says:

    This is really very well done. From the very beginning you wrap the two extremes together into a wonderful dialectic. I especially love the image of the child making snow angels contrasting with your caption about doom and destruction.

Leave a Reply

