Anne’s Photo Narrative

 

 

‘Still I Rise’

1 (2)

1

2 (2)

4

5 (1)

7

8

9

10

11 (2)

14 (2)

14 (2.2)

15 (1)

Photo links to the five in the middle:

<http://luisbeltran.wix.com/cursodeediciondigital?_escaped_fragment_=contacto&gt;.
<http://vi.sualize.us/dream_about_down_photography_sepia_perspective_falling_picture_9Du. html>.
http://cdn.trendhunterstatic.com/thumbs/dreamlike-photography.jpeg&gt;.
http://blog.mercurialme.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/coco.jpg&gt;.
<http://www.cuded.com/2012/08/surreal-photography-by-anja-stiegler/&gt;.

 

Response:

In giving my narrative a title I struggled. I wanted to capture the fall out of reality, the rise into dream world, the fall out of dream world, and the rise into reality. Falling always makes one leave, and rising always is associated with the rejoining of the world. Yet, most of the commenters focused on ‘falling,’ not the exuberant rise in the dream or the more sober rise of the sun. I wondered if my title talked about the rising, it would offer a different lens for the spectator to interpret the narrative. Maya Angelou’s title of her poem, Still I Rise, made an impression on me.  This title focuses on the constant rise that accompanies every fall. The title Still I Rise may persuade the reader to detect the positive message in a narrative. Perhaps, this will not take away from the impact of the falls, but in fact make them more salient. I hope using that title is not looked down upon because it is not so ‘original’ but I feel like it encapsulates what I want to represent with my narrative. The title contains the only words I am adding. As I stated in my earlier reflection, each photograph informs the one before and the one after it, following Mohr and Berger. The spectator needs no guidance to see the order of events. From the few who commented on it without knowing the story, it seemed as though the big ideas came across. My title is only a reading that I find most interesting, goading the spectator to find it too. However, whatever meaning a spectator finds in a story or anything creative is encouraged by me –I guess that is the Barthes in my ideology. My perspective on my narrative always contained the tension between night and day, but it was not until I synthesized me peer’s ideas and my ideas came into focus. With their input, I came up with the title and clarified my inner dialogue when reading the narrative. With a creative work, the conversation between the work, the author, and the spectator are what in my mind make a creative piece work. My favorite part of interacting with a creative work is this conversation or dialogue.

 

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anne’s Photo Narrative

  1. joezim1994 says:

    Title: Nightfall
    The evening and the sunset—very real events—merge into the surreal when sleep arrives. These photographs capture the transition from a waking to a dreaming state, and back again. Images of the world lead to images of the imagined. What is interesting is the way the sky itself appears almost surreal, and seems naturally to progress into photographs of fanciful flight. Day and night are unified by light, never wholly absent—even if just in the shining of a clock. A long night of sleep evidently has the power to elevate, but the sunrise heightens in its own way.

  2. megmck12 says:

    Title: Falling Asleep

    The state of being asleep is often associated with the imagery of falling. Although physically, we softly lay our head on a pillow we “fall asleep.” Although day gradually turns to night, “night falls.” This narrative captures the transitory stages of sleep: from the last thing we see through our heavy eyelids, to the pervasive sense of falling that enfolds us, to the first thing we see after we wake up.

  3. Sheila Jelen says:

    My title for your photo-essay was “falling.” I like your narrative framing of the essay very much, in particular your discussion of Mohr and Berger’s articulation of “the long quotation” or the “short quotation” as a way of expressing the tools that a spectator may have in approaching photograph he or she may know very little, or very much about, depending. Your statement: “By putting photographs in a series, each provides context for the one following and preceding photograph, connecting the ambiguous events and creating a story” is quite apt.

  4. Sheila Jelen says:

    I love that you focused on “rising” here as a response to all the “falling” readings you received. I also appreciate your engagement with the theorists. Why did you decide not to add any captions, though?

Leave a Reply

